XOOM Energy Reviews

XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.

XOOM Energy Rating

New Hampshire Energy Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About XOOM Energy

XOOM Energy is a retail energy provider that offers electricity and natural gas service in select states. Service areas include California, Ohio, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and New York.

65 Reviews for XOOM Energy


Bad prices

(1.8 / 5)

  Was stationed over in Korea came up for Renewal and I was out in the field and was unable to do so. My mother was staying at the house being the bill while I was in Korea. Her bill went from $70 to $177. Following month 233. Call them to find out what was going on and got locked out of the rate for the yearly renewal. This company is one of the worst companies ever, find a cheaper rate somewhere else.

Ryan
October 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1.8 / 5)

  As a small business, until early this year (2018), I didn't select any of the energy delivery companies like Zoom. I never saw one on my bill and the bill was in the $400/mo range throughout the year. I was called by Zoom and they said that I didn't have any alternative that I needed to select an energy delivery company (I think that's what they call them...I've always just let that aspect service default to AEP and the bills have been reasonable so I never worried about it). Zoom talked their service up like I would be so well off. They said there are times of the year that it is most advantageous to lock in (if I understood them right) and I said, "I'm too busy for that I work 65 hours/per week just keeping the business going...I don't have time to try to sift through various plans and lock-ins, etc. I just want something that is simple and doesn't make it worse (words to that effect). I told them I really didn't want any gimmicks because as time goes on, I can't pay attention to the specials and gimmicks, that I had always been happy with just doing things as I had. They said I could not longer do that because it would just default to some company and the rates would be worse. But they assured me I would be so well off with Zoom Energy.
I didn't get a bill in May and then got a warning message in June that I was behind on my account (I imaging I would be if I didn't receive the bill). So I called and got the May and Jun bill paid over the phone at a substantially higher level than previous bills. I figured they "got me" for the late bill but didn't have the time to fight it. Now I get a bill in July that is 50% higher than my previous levels for years. I am in the health care profession and I am the provider so I don't have time to pay the bills myself. I have to be with patients. I have a staff person pay the bills. I can't look at every one of them. Essentially my staff pays the bill and lets me know if it goes up...which they did this month. Now I'm paying 50% more than I used to before I joined Zoom energy. This is a scam!

Geoff
July 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies and trickery

(1.6 / 5)

  I was tricked into getting this service. I switched to lower my bill and my bill has steadily increased every month. Now that I have ran into financial hardship due to a loss of income, their only solution is to set up a payment plan that will only further increase my bill in a couple of days. I regret switching and I will be sure to tell everyone to stay away from this company.

AW
April 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Decision ever made

(1.6 / 5)

  I decided to use XOOM for my gas Provider and in one month I had bill of $358.25 ($158.62 - 44.28%) charges more than my local Gas Company. I switched because time when I switch rate of XOOM was little less than my gas company NJNG. Afte one year they shoot up price like anything and i ended up paying dearly. By the time i realized what was going on it was two years and i must have paid $$1500 more than i should have paid since i have large house and i live in NJ in colder weather. To save couple cent, do not switch to this shady company who will show upfront some saving and lock you in contract and you forget to switch after contract is over.

BybytoXOOM
January 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Could not answer basic questions

(1.4 / 5)

  I tried to sign up with XOOM energy for natural gas in Georgia. I could not even get what should be simple questions answered from their customer service. I am glad I had questions during the signup. If I had to deal with their customer service after signing up I would have been sorry I switched.

GAGAS
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They lost my check when they changed billing locations and charged me a late fee.

(1.4 / 5)

  I have never had any problems with any of my checks getting lost with my online bill pay. Xoom changed locations and they said I never sent in my payment (but I did). Then they said I would have to pay a late fee even though they understood that I sent in the payment. I complained and they said I would have to have my bank call them to verify it and then they might remove the $10 charge. When my bank called them, Xoom said they couldn't take the call on a recorded line and so the bank just gave me the money for the late fee just to simplify things for me and them. The customer service rep and the customer service manager acknowledged that even if it wasn't my fault, they didn't have the money so the charge would stand. I thought that this was very pore customer service and a huge waste of time.

Xoom Stinks
April 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over priced

(1.4 / 5)

  Do not use this company!!! Beware of high hidden fees and although the customer service reps are very friendly, this company is a trap. We are a young family trying to save for a home, anywhere we can. We tried to get out of our plan after seeing that Xoom energy charges an energy service fee from Oncor Monthly of 65.00 and it would be 350.00 to close our service with them. Unbelievable!!!!!!

Over priced!!!!
June 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cost more than original PG&E bill

(1.4 / 5)

  was given 30 days to cancel contract. Didn't get PG&E bill for comparison until after 30 days. The bill was higher than original. Had to pay $70 to cancel.

Doren
February 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would not recommend

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up with Xoom thru ACN (OMG what a waste of money), and I didn't have a single month that went without issues. I couldn't make a payment on their website, couldn't do automatic billing, couldn't reach them over the phone later in the day or over the weekend and their customer service overall is very poor. Shady business, shady website, shady payment management system.
Stay away

Marko
June 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it !

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up late 2019, they ended up canceling the preauthorized credit card on file for no good reason and then forgetting to send the bills out for several months. They did write an apology for the mess they had created but I was still hit with late fees since I had only updated the credit card info on my one account.. so instead of having one seams-less system with one account for both they have them separated and youll have to log in twice and select a different account on a little scroll down that is easy to miss.
Anyway long story short Ive spend an hour on the phone to no avail, theyll get the late fees they do badly wanted, but never my business again.

Nicki
March 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor, deceptive practice

(1.2 / 5)

  Xoom website is not the most user friendly. I was emailed regarding my account to select my new rate plan and had until 1/21/2020 to make a selection. On 1/21/2020 I switched providers due to the new rates. I was charged a $350 contract termination fee as customer service explained that I had another year left on my contract. A full year but yet they wanted me to select a new plan already. Very misleading to a consumer. Not helpful with customer service as they wanted me to return to get the fee waived. Poor website, poor customer service and DECEPTIVE business practices. Would not and could not recommend!

Concerned Home Owner
January 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around elsewhere

(1.2 / 5)

  This place is a joke! I received my first bill with Xoom Energy as my supplier and their eaters were about $100 more than what my average bill looked like prior to switching. When I first switched to Xoom as my natural energy supplier I was told that they offered lower rates then my current supplier, the salesman lied to me, it was a hassle to switch and now Im stuck with them for two more months. Shop elsewhere before signing a contract with Xoom Energy.

Angel Wells
December 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst company ever

(1.2 / 5)

  They have the worst customer service experience this company needs to be shut down immediately, the representatives and supervisors dont even care or know what they are talking about they have the worst procedures in how they assist in resolving customer issues please shut this company down today

The worst company ever
August 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away!!

(1 / 5)

  From one month to the next my bill doubled. Sorry....nothing we can do. I have been with them for years and obviously something was read wrong. All the summer months are comparable to last year until now and nobody seems to think that is a problem. I was told to call someone else but I pay them so why should I. Not going to stick around anymore. Another lost customer.

Dont do it
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No happy at all they Charge to much

(1 / 5)

  I was with zoom for 6 years and was happy but now my bill is $110 for electricity and $74,09 just for delivery and I dont recommend this company anymore and never want to pay lots money go with zoom

Over charge
August 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever, i regret going to this company. The price is high and no system, I cancelled My account with them, every week they keep on sending bills. That is crazy. 0 will be a score for them

Grace
July 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is deceptive

(1 / 5)

  Buyer beware. I was supposed to be in a fixed rate plan (Lies) my bill was all over the place I've month it'll be $150 next month its close to $500! The company is not transparent with cost and fees and I was drooped into this garbage by a network marketing companies ACN! This is just a bunch of criminals! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

Valencia
June 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst ever company

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever .. charge high worst customer service... If you want to close your account... They will not send any confirmation and will charge you again for next month... I called about 5 times but still have not received my cancellation letter and they charged me the monthly bill.. and told me to call again.. please don't get it

Sobia
June 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculous they made us change everything

(1 / 5)

  I am appalled by Xoom forcing every person that uses their service in Texas to change everything. And they only sent out a simple email that is easily lost with all the trash they send. I will never recommend Xoom to anyone ever again.

Dianna Hodgson
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dysfunctional, Incorrect Billing & No Customer service

(1 / 5)

  Ive been incorrectly billed from day 1. Their paper bill does not match the online bill ever - thats what one of their employees said to me - Rudy Aguila. I sent them a check on the first paper bill which was for the full amount of the bill. 3 weeks later Xoom has still not processed my payment. I was told to stop payment on the check and pay the bill online which I did. Then the next day Xoom attempted to process the check I had placed a stop payment on, and they charged me $25. Xoom told me to issue the stop payment - and then they charged me!
They told me they would issue a credit for $25 and they never did. Next month I pay my bill on their website. I pay the bill in full. Then I receive a bill showing another $25 fee carried over from prior month. I call customer no service, and I am told it will be corrected but its not. I filed complaints w the BBB and Georgia public service commission. Xoom has lied to the BBB Georgia public service commission and me. I have decided to switch carriers. Ive been in Georgia for 24 years and have never had a problem with any gas provider until Xoom came along. My recommendation is to steer clear of Xoom Energy! They have some kind of scam going on to try and boost their profits by deliberately not processing payments so they can charge late fees.

CK
May 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...